Skip to content

Introduction: Sonja

February 7, 2012

I’m so excited to be partnering with Shari on this endeavour of starting a photography club for moms in the Fraser Valley.  We are happy to announce that we have made quite a few connections with professional photographers in the area who are very graciously offering their time to share with us!

Here’s a little bit about me and what has led me to this place!

I have loved photography for as long as I can remember.  As a child I remember playing with one of these: 

And then, when I was around 10 years old I used one of those cameras that had the disposable flash units on the top.  You know, you’d get 8 flashes out of one, and then you were out of luck!

I always had a camera, and I remember the exhileration of dropping the film off to be developed, and waiting excitedly to pick up the pictures days later!  Usually the photos in the package spanned weeks/months of time, and many different occasions!  Photos were special and celebrated!

When I was in high school I took a photography class, but I’m old enough that the cameras used film.  So on top of learning composition and exposure, and all of those other things, we needed to learn how to develop in a dark room.  It was an amazing experience for me, and it really fueled my creativity.  I tried to convince my parents to build a darkroom in the basement of our house, but they didn’t go for it!  In university I had a friend with access to a campus darkroom, so I dabbled a bit more.

When my first child was born, I took lots of pictures of her, but I was really frustrated with how they turned out.  Even though I had a relatively new digital camera, I couldn’t figure out what the problem was.  Now I know it’s because I was relying on the “auto” setting to make my pictures turn out, and in all honestly, cameras don’t have a creative eye 🙂

In the winter of 2011, I got my first DSLR.  From that point forward I have spent almost all of my free time learning about photography.  I’ve been taking a few photography workshops and I’ve joined online photography forums where I’m soaking up all of the knowledge I can.  I take so many pictures of my children every day. I want to be able to document my family life in a real and beautiful way. These precious years with our children as little ones are so fleeting. I want to be able to remember as many details about my children in the way that only pictures can do.

When Shari contacted me and asked if I would help her start a photography club for moms in the Langley, Abbotsford, Chilliwack area, I was so excited.  This is what I’ve been waiting for, people in REAL LIFE to talk photography with!  I’m so happy that we will be able to meet with other women who want to learn more about photography and take the time to invest in preserving the memories of our families.

I’m really looking forward to meeting all of the members.  If you’re interested in joining us, please e-mail us at momswithacamera@gmail.com.   We will meet for the first time at 7:00 on Thursday, February 16th in Abbotsford.

~Sonja

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

