Skip to content

Colouring Easter Eggs

April 4, 2012

With Easter just around the corner, we decided to colour eggs.  The idea of having a two and almost four year old use dye can be a little overwhelming.  However, I’ve never been one to shy away from messy experiences.  My mom was over for most of the day, so the extra help was wonderful.  As a child I always loved colouring eggs at Easter and hope to continue this tradition with my own children.  Not to mention that these experiences provide great photo opportunities!

When setting up, I was trying to think of how to protect the table and chairs not to mention the kids clothing.  The photo lover in me was also thinking about how to make the whole thing look visually appealing.  A table covered in garbage bags and kids wearing old ugly clothes don’t make for great photos.  We didn’t have any newspapers or plastic table cloths, so I put some carpet samples on the table.  It was all that I could find and it did the job.  For the kids clothes, I dug up some hand me downs that weren’t in great shape but didn’t look bad (Sarah’s shirt is missing 3 of the 5 buttons).  In the end it seemed to work out ok.  I’ve been learning that next to the technical aspects of photography and lighting, the little things like clothing and backgrounds can really make or break a photo.

I just used regular food colouring, hot water and vinegar to colour the eggs. However, you can use Kool Aid mix or many other natural dyes.  Like most experiences with kids, I try to keep my expectations low and just try to have fun! An idea that I saw AFTER we did this was to put the egg in a whisk, making it easier for kids to move the egg around and therefore less mess.

One of my goals this year is to take more photos of our children with their grandparents.  Holidays and family traditions provide great experiences to get these kind of photos.  I much prefer natural moments like these that show love rather than posed shots.

Sarah took egg colouring pretty seriously.  It turns out that two and four year olds can colour Easter eggs with success, just make sure to have an extra set of hands to make the job easier.  Next year I need to remember to pick up some yellow food colouring.  Oh well.

Last but not least, a family tradition, paska.  I use the Mennonite Girls can Cook recipe, get it here Paska Recipe.  Our family is looking forward to celebrating Easter this year.  He is Risen!

Photos taken with my Canon 50D, 50 mm lens

Posted by Shari (MWAC Host)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2012 3:23 pm

    He is Risen Indeed! Great photos and fabulous tradition….see you Thursday!

  2. April 4, 2012 3:24 pm

    hah we tried this last week, it lasted about 5 mins before my 3 yr old kept dropping the eggs on the floor or squeezing them so hard they crumbled. then of course she wanted to investigate the inside!

Leave a Reply

