Skip to content

Making your own Backdrop Stand

April 27, 2012

A back drop stand is one of the most valuable “props” I have when it comes to photographing newborns.  When I first went out to purchase a stand I soon realized that they are quite costly.  I am not a professional photographer and didn’t have the money or a great reason to justify the cost, therefore I had to figure out a plan B.

It’s really easy and cheap to make your own back drop stand.  For $20 I was able to purchase enough PVC pipe, connectors and a bag of clamps from Home Depot.  What a great deal!

Want to make your own back drop stand?  Here’s what you need to purchase:

-2-3 lengths of PVC Pipe

-2 1/2 inch Connectors with 3 holes (see bottom left photo)

-4  1/2 inch Connectors with 2 holes (see top left photo)

-Clamps.  I purchased a mesh bag that came with about 15 in different sizes.

Once you have your pvc, cut it into lengths with a hand saw or power tool.  My hand husband was super helpful for this part!  Here are my pipe lengths: 4 -20 inch pieces, 2 -40 inch pieces and 2 -55 inch pieces (one is for the back support not seen on my pic).  I can easily set up my stand in less than 2 minutes and it’s easy to transport.  My stand doesn’t have a back support making it a bit wobbly, therefore I would suggest putting a piece of pvc pipe connecting the bottom back pipes as well (noted in supplies as well).

I use a large (home-made) bean bag under the blanket to put baby on. Baby bean bags can be purchased or you can make do with a firm couch cushion or other easy to mold item.  I always pull my bean bag forward and drape the blanket over the stand.  Make sure to always smooth out wrinkles on blankets before photographing, you’ll be thankful when you do.  Happy building!

Here’s my (not so) little one posing on the back drop stand as I was taking these photos this afternoon.  Back drop stands work great for older babies and even children, depending on how you use them.  Let me know if that was helpful.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. mia permalink
    May 30, 2012 2:19 am

    thats a great idea.. thanks a lot, can we alternatively use a laundry rack ?

  2. Christina permalink
    June 21, 2012 1:33 am

    Thank you so much!

  3. August 26, 2012 11:47 pm

    this is great!! I was looking how to make my own :)) thanks for sharing

  4. woodwalkphotography permalink
    October 23, 2012 12:23 am

    great idea!! I’m a beginner photographer and needed a backdrop. thanks for the design!

  5. May 15, 2013 11:50 am

    This was such an easy and helpful tutorial. I am a photographer working in between the USA and Italy and can’t afford double the equipment so this was perfect! Thank you!

  6. ct-mama@hotmail.com permalink
    July 24, 2013 4:30 pm

    What a great idea… Thank you so much! I am looking into purchasing one and they are quite pricy. I could have never thought of anything like this. Thanks so much!

Trackbacks

  1. Photoshoot with my favourite model | Hurry Up and Wait…
  2. Getting started. « BNB PHOTOGRAPHY BLOG

Leave a Reply

