Skip to content

Take the MWAC Challenge!

May 22, 2012

In order to really grow and learn in your photography journey you need to practice.  We know that you have heard this before, but the reality couldn’t be more true.  365 Projects are a great way to pick up your camera daily and practice, practice, practice.  However, if you’re anything like me at the moment, the thought of committing to a year long project with another thing to check off your to do list every day is beyond daunting.  Since the overall concept and idea is a great one, let’s simplify it and start by making it a one week challenge.  Therefore, the MWAC Challenge is to commit to practicing using your camera and learning every day (7 days) this week.

Think about a time in your day when you have a little down time; perhaps it’s when your children are playing in the morning, watching a show before bed, reading, etc.  Use the time to snap some photos and play with your settings.  Another idea is to set up your children with an activity and while they’re (hopefully) happily playing, practice your skills.  It doesn’t need to be for a long time, in fact about 10-15 minutes is enough time.

The second part of this challenge is to learn something new through reading/ studying.  I have learned so much by reading blogs, my camera manual, tutorials, etc or watching uTube videos.  Spend about 5-15 minutes each day this week studying up.  Reading and practicing will help you better understand your camera and take your photography to the next level.  If you consider yourself a beginner, a great subject to focus on is exposure.  Once you really understand exposure (aperture, shutter speed and ISO), you will be able to make leaps and bounds in your photography.  At least that’s what I found.

Below is a list of some of our favourite resources.  Read one entry/ article each day.  You’ll be amazed at what you’ll learn!

The Moms with a Camera Blog (of course)

Clickin Moms Blog (AMAZING resource, prepare to be challenged and inspired)

Mom and Camera Blog (Great blog with lots of tutorials, tips and inspiration for moms)

The Momtographers (Great site with lots of information for beginner mom photographers)

Momtog (A professional photographer’s website all geared towards moms wanting to take better pics of their kids)

Dolce Pics (A professional photographer’s website (from Vancouver) for moms and beginner photographers, great tutorials)

My Four Hens Blog (wonderful source for inspiration). I’m loving the “Inspired” posts.

Creative Live (keep an eye out for great free online workshops)

Are you stuck on something particular, like aperture, shutter speed, ISO, or choosing your own focus points?  Check out these videos:  

One particular Youtube channel that is full of amazing tutorials is “Fro Knows Photo”.  For example, his depth of field video, his  aperture video, his shutter speed video, his ISO video, his manual video, etc.

So what do you say?  Put it in writing.  Please leave a comment on this post if you’re up for the challenge!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Dawna permalink
    May 22, 2012 3:14 am

    Want to say yes, but my body tells me otherwise. In living with MS, sometimes just daily living is a challenge ( which is why I couldn’t get around to the rule of thirds challenge). I still greatly value all I can learn from all of you, but hope that it is okay that I struggle along at a ‘sometimes’ slower pace than others.

    • May 22, 2012 3:15 pm

      We are so glad that you are coming out! You’re doing a great job, and you need to save up your energy for your sweet kids. Photography should be fun, so please don’t feel any pressure from us! ~Sonja

  2. May 22, 2012 3:25 am

    fabulous challenge….I can’t commit this week as I am traveling to Regina to teach so I will be away. I did spend a lot of the weekend watching creativeLive sessions on speedlights. I took a lot of notes, it was awesome! Played a lot this weekend too as we went away through deception pass…..really pretty country!

    • May 22, 2012 3:16 pm

      That sounds great! Take the challenge when it works for you! Have a great time in SK. And, I’m glad you got a lot of out of the speedlights session. I watched some of it. Maybe one day you can teach us during a session! (Oh, and I love Deception Pass!!!) ~Sonja

  3. Laura balzer permalink
    May 22, 2012 3:39 am

    Ok! I’m in, I am putting an alarm on my phone right now to remind me every day! Thanks ladies. This is a great idea .)

  4. Angel Beauregard permalink
    May 23, 2012 5:24 pm

    Great idea Sonja! This challenge will hold me accountable to use and learn about my camera every day this week. I’m starting the 7 day challenge today! Thanks for list of resources, I look forward to exploring them.

    • May 23, 2012 10:34 pm

      That’s great! I can’t take the credit though, Shari thought of it 😉 I hope you enjoy the challenge!

  5. Rachelle permalink
    May 28, 2012 6:53 pm

    I’m not doing the challenge at this time but I have been taking pictures almost everyday anyway. I have also watched some different Creative Live classes and I am trying to understand my camera better.

Leave a Reply

